Kuwait Ruler’s History

Kuwait Ruler's History

Kuwait Ruler’s History

About Kuwait

Kuwait, an Arab country on the Persian (Arabian) Gulf, has cultural heritage dating back to antiquity.

Kuwait City, the capital, is known for its modern architecture, ranging from skyscrapers to the striking Kuwait Towers, water towers whose design recalls the tiled domes of a classic mosque.

The Tareq Rajab Museum houses a rich collection of ethnographic artifacts and Islamic art.

Al Otob tribe fled to State of Kuwait away from the terrible drought which perished the Arab Peninsula. They chose Sabah bin Jaber as their governor in 1756.

As time passed, the small town of Kuwait benefited from its location overlooking the head of the Arabian Gulf and thrived through trade, fishing and pearl fishery.

Kuwait became one of the most prosperous countries in the region. Since 1756, fourteen rulers from Al Sabah family ruled Kuwait.

The fourteen rulers from Al Sabah family who ruled State of Kuwait since 1756 are:

  • Sheikh Sabah, the First: 1756
  • Sheikh Abdullah: 1762
  • Sheikh Jaber, the First: 1812
  • Sheikh Sabah, the Second: 1859
  • Sheikh Abdullah, the Second: 1866
  • Sheikh Mohamed, the First: 1892
  • Sheikh Mubarak Al Sabah: 1896
  • Sheikh Jaber, the Second: 1915
  • Sheikh Salem Al Mubarak: 1917
  • Sheikh Ahmed Al Jaber: 1921
  • Sheikh Abdullah Al Salem: 1950
  • Sheikh Sabah Al Salem: 1965 – 1977
  • Sheikh Jaber Al Ahmad Al Sabah: 1977 – 2006
  • Sheikh Saad Al Abdullah Al Salem Al Sabah: 2006
  • In 2006, Sheikh Sabah Al Ahmad Al Jaber Al Sabah, may Allah protect him, became the ruler of Kuwait until the present time
Paid Content