Covid19- Travel from South American destinations banned in UK

UK PM says new variant may be more dangerous

Covid19- Travel from South American destinations banned in UK

New travel restrictions from Friday 15 January on passengers arriving in the UK from South American destinations, Portugal, Panama and Cape Verde. The new travel ban applies to people who have travelled from, or through, the South American countries of Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela in the last 10 days.

Qatar and the Caribbean islands of Aruba, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba have also been removed from the UK’s travel corridor lists, meaning anyone arriving from these countries after 04:00 GMT on Saturday will have to quarantine for 10 days

Prof Barclay, head of G2P-UK National Virology Consortium, which is studying the effects of emerging coronavirus mutations, said: “There are two different types of Brazilian variants and one of them has been detected and one of them has not.” “The new Brazilian variant of concern, that was picked up in travellers going to Japan, has not been detected in the UK,” she added.

The UK government is working with international partners to understand the changes in the virus that have been reported in these countries and are conducting a programme of further research in the UK to inform major risk assessments.

The UK economy shrank by 2.6% since November as lockdown restrictions reduced economic activity, according to figures from the Office for National Statistics.